July 2021 Top Astronomy Events


Mercury at greatest elongation west

05 JUL 2021 





Mercury will reach its greatest separation from the Sun in its Jun–Jul 2021 morning apparition. It will be shining brightly at mag 0.3.


The phase occurs at 09:41 IST (04:11 UTC)


Mercury at highest altitude in morning sky


06 JUL 2021



Mercury will reach its highest point in the sky in its Jun–Jul 2021 morning apparition. It will be shining brightly at mag 0.3.

This apparition will not be one of the most prominent and tricky to observe, reaching a peak altitude of 19° above the horizon at sunrise on 10 Jul 2021

 Conjunction of the Moon and Mercury

08 JUL 2021 

The Moon and Mercury will share the same right ascension, with the Moon passing 3°45' to the north of Mercury. The Moon will be 28 days old. The phase occurs at 10:09 IST (04:39 UTC)

The pair will be visible in the dawn sky, rising at 04:40 (IST) – 1 hour and 25 minutes before the Sun – and reaching an altitude of 14° above the eastern horizon before fading from view as dawn breaks around 05:49

 

Conjunction of the Moon and Venus

12 JUL 2021



The Moon and Venus will share the same right ascension, with the Moon passing 3°15' to the north of Venus. The Moon will be 2 days old.

The phase occurs at14:39 IST (09:09 UTC)

 

Conjunction of the Moon and Mars

12 JUL 2021



The Moon and Mars will share the same right ascension, with the Moon passing 3°46' to the north of Mars. The Moon will be 2 days old.

 

The Moon will be at mag -9.5, and Mars at mag 1.8, both in the constellation Leo.

The phase occurs at15:40 IST (10:10 UTC)

Conjunction of Venus and Mars

 13 JUL 2021 

Venus and Mars will share the same right ascension, with Venus passing 0°29' to the north of Mars

At around the same time, the two objects will also make a close approach, technically called an appulse.

Venus will be at mag -3.9, and Mars at mag 1.8, both in the constellation Leo.

The phase occurs at12:38 IST (07:08 UTC)

The Moon at perigee

 21 JUL 2021


The Moon will reach the closest point along its orbit to the Earth and will appear slightly larger than at other times.

The Moon's distance from the Earth varies because its orbit is not perfectly circular – it is slightly oval-shaped, tracing out a path called an ellipse.

As the Moon traverses this elliptical path around the Earth each month, its distance varies by 14%, between 356,500 km at perigee (closest approach to the Earth) and 406,700 km at apogee (furthest from the Earth).

The phase occurs at 15:54 IST (10:24 UTC)

Conjunction of the Moon and Saturn

24 JUL 2021

The Moon and Saturn will share the same right ascension, with the Moon passing 3°48' to the south of Saturn. The Moon will be 14 days old

At around the same time, the two objects will also make a close approach, technically called an appulse.

The Moon will be at mag -12.7, and Saturn at mag 0.2, both in the constellation Capricornus.

The phase occurs at 22:08 IST (16:38 UTC)

Full Moon 

24 JUL 2021

The Moon will be located on the opposite side of the Earth as the Sun and its face will be fully illuminated. This phase occurs at 02:37 UTC 08:07 AM. This full moon was known by early Native American tribes as the Buck Moon because the male buck deer would begin to grow their new antlers at this time of year. This moon has also been known as the Thunder Moon and the Hay Moon

 

Conjunction of the Moon and Jupiter

26 JUL 2021

The Moon and Jupiter will share the same right ascension, with the Moon passing 4°10' to the south of Jupiter. The Moon will be 16 days old.

The Moon will be at mag -12.6, and Jupiter at mag -2.8, both in the constellation Aquarius.

The phase occurs at 06:51 IST (01:21 UTC)

 

Delta Aquarids Meteor Shower.

29 & 30th JUL 2021

The Delta Aquarids is an average shower that can produce up to 20 meteors per hour at its peak. It is produced by debris left behind by comets Marsden and Kracht. The shower runs annually from July 12 to August 23. It peaks this year on the night of July 28 and morning of July 29. The nearly full moon will be a problem this year. It's glare will block most of the faintest meteors. But if you are patient, you should still be able to catch a few good ones. Best viewing will be from a dark location after midnight. Meteors will radiate from the constellation Aquarius, but can appear anywhere in the sky.

The shower is likely produce its best displays in the hours around 01:00 IST, when its radiant point is highest in the sky.

 so the best displays might be seen before dawn on 30 July and after dusk on 30 July.

 Also read